STONY PLAIN, AB: On December 21, 2023, the Chief Administrative Officers (CAOs) from municipalities in the Edmonton Metro Region signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for a new, collaborative framework intended to improve regional transit services.

Signatories to the MOU included the Town of Stony Plain, City of Leduc, Town of Devon, City of Spruce Grove, City of St. Albert, City of Fort Saskatchewan, City of Beaumont and the City of Edmonton, Strathcona County, Leduc County and Parkland County. Municipal CAOs as well as local transit leaders will have regular meetings to discuss needs, look for efficiencies and keep lines of communication open.

Collaboration to improve regional transit is built upon established positive working relationships, and existing agreements between regional transit providers and a history of collaboration and mutual support. In contrasts to previous attempts to grow the regional transit network, the MOU outlined the following principles:

  • Municipalities retain sole control of their assets and workforce
  • Municipalities retain sole control of their public transit service decisions
  • Municipalities have mutual respect for each other’s values, policies, areas of expertise and jurisdictions
  • Municipalities will continue to seek to make efficient use of existing resources
  • The CAO of each municipality will be responsible for achieving the desired level of collaboration

“Regional transit collaboration is essential for enhancing connectivity and improving the rider experience. This joint initiative addresses service gaps and explores sub-regional agreements, demonstrating our commitment to tailored solutions,” says CAO Tom Goulden. “My team and I look forward to working with our counterparts within this MOU.”

Some recent examples of how this collaboration has worked include:

  • Tri-lateral agreement for integrated inter-municipal service between Stony Plain, Spruce Grove and Parkland County
  • Strathcona County Transit stopping in Edmonton’s Cloverdale Neighbourhood
  • Sharing of Naki Transit Centre in St. Albert for special events service
  • Beaumont transit providing service to Mill Woods Transit Centre